Jewellery mementos

Oh hello there gorgeous! How was your weekend? If you’re into London Fashion Week, today is day 4 which is exciting as a few favourites will be presenting today. I’ve been keeping up (when I can) via the live stream and so far, I’ve been really impressed with J JS Lee and Bora Aksu from Day 1.

In keeping with fashion month, I decided to focus a lot of posts around fashion and beauty as they go hand in hand. So today is all about jewellery, particularly the jewellery I have collected on my travels. I recently reflected on the places I’ve been to and I’m awe of how fortunate I have been. Never in a million years would I think that the girl growing up on a twin island in the sun, would have visited Santorini, Italy, Sri Lanka, Dubai, Hong Kong, Paris, Istanbul and so on. Not to mention where I will visit this year, if I’m lucky again this year it’ll be lots!

One of the things I try to do on my travels, if I can afford it, is to pick up jewellery from whatever city/country that I’m visiting. Here are a few of my favourites….

 

jewellery mementos on majeang.com

As you can see I really like gold, don’t get wrong I like silver too and do wear it but, gold compliments my skin tone a lot better 🙂

The ring was the first piece of jewellery I ever bought myself that had a real diamond. I was so excited, because I got this in Istanbul, Turkey. Unfortunately the diamond fell out and I couldn’t find it 😦 My amazing mother got it replaced with my birthstone!

 

ring bracelet

The floral bracelet I picked up in Hong Kong at the ladies night market. I had just been made redundant from my job and the trip which was booked before said redundancy, was actually a great pick me up.

The chain bracelet I purchased from a jewellery shop in Fira, Greece and he stones remind me of how colourful, warm and beautifiul that trip was. I went with one of my bffs and there was lots of laughter, sun, sea and adventure.

 

 

 

Murano glass pendant

Now this pendant I picked up in a little shop in Rome. Made out of murano glass, I couldn’t resist it. Still looking for the right necklace to put it on, it reminds me of Vatican City, amazing italian food and a city buzzing with history.

Finally, this isn’t technically a ‘touristy’ purchase as a family member got this for me, when I was last home in Trinidad. However, it was such a beautiful piece and wanted to add it in. Very chic and geometrical. Plus I was given this at a time when I needed a reminder that there is an order to life, although we may not understand it at times. Love it!

 

jewellery collected on travels by majeang

 

That’s all from me today, but please share in the comments below if you have any jewellery pieces that mean something to you. Or do you also do jewellery mementos from your travels?

As always thank you for reading and commenting.

Until next time be well

x

 

 

Leave a Reply

